Is Peanut Butter Vegan? Here’s What Experts Say
Peanut butter: friend of oatmeal, star of smoothies, topper of toast, and an animal-ingredient-free spread that will keep you in line with your vegan lifestyle?
Mmmm, well that depends.
Is peanut butter vegan?
While it may have “butter” in the name, PB doesn’t actually contain the dairy product. “Peanut butter is typically made from peanuts, salt, oil, and sometimes added sugars,” says Erin Palinksi-Wade, a registered dietician and author of Belly Fat Diet for Dummies.
So, yes, that means the vast majority of peanut butters are vegan. However, some brands use animal products such as honey or package their peanut butter in the same facilities as other foods that use animal products, such as milk, which ups the risk of cross-contamination.
So, if you want to be sure your PB is vegan through and through, hit up your fave’s manufacturer to confirm that the product actually holds up with your dietary needs, says Palinski-Wade.
Then again, if all of the ingredients in your favourite peanut butter are vegan but the final product is processed near foods containing animal products, eating it is totally up to you and your lifestyle choices.
According to PETA, you’re not any less of a vegan for eating something that might have trace amounts of animal products, especially since cross-contamination is sometimes straight-up unavoidable (think pans in restaurants used for both vegan and non-vegan dishes).
Plus, going full Nancy Drew on your peanut butter manufacturer before taking a bite of your peanut butter toast can be a major drag. But hey, if you’ve got the time and want to confirm your peanut butter is made in total isolation from other animal products, go for it.
Welp, turns out my fave’s not vegan, what can I eat instead?
If switching to a certified brand doesn’t do it for you (which is unlikely, because they’re delish), Palinsky-Wade suggests making your own peanut butter. Simply use a “high-powered food processor,” blend peanuts, maybe add a little salt, and enjoy. Yeah, it’s that easy.
And if you want to switch things up completely, try turning to nut butters such as almond, cashew, or macadamia. But remember, they’re not guaranteed to be any more vegan than peanut butter—so choose wisely.
This article was originally published on www.womenshealthmag.com